This training is offered in both face-to-face and distance learning formats. More information

Description

Introduction

In the wake of multiple financial crises, Risk Management has become essential. Today practically every provider of financial services is concerned about the multitude of risks to manage. Understanding the wide range of risks in financial services is no easy task.

This training is in blended-learning, meaning that you will receive an access, 5 days prior to the course, to a preparatory e-learning course on the fundamentals of Financial Risks.


Objectives

The main objective of this course is to provide participants with a theoretical and practical foundation in Risk Management for financial services.

  • Define risk and responsibilities of risk managers in financial services
  • Describe the main types of financial risks
  • Understand the international regulatory environment for risk management
  • Explain the basic characteristics of market risk, credit risk, operational risk, liquidity risk
  • Understand how risk is measured
  • Describe key governance issues of risk management
Programme
  • Introduction to Risk and Risk Management

    • Types of Financial Risk

    • Market Risk

    • Credit Risk

    • Liquidity Risk

    • Operational Risk

  • Measuring and Managing Risk

  • Regulatory Environment

    • Banks

    • Investment Funds

  • Future Trends in Risk Management

Target Audience

Financial service professionals who want to gain an overview of risk management in financial services.


Conditions

Course Material

Please note that for environmental reasons no paper version of the training material will be provided for your training. The course material can be downloaded free of charge via your portal before the start of the course (download the Client Portal User’s Guide here). You will be able to view it on the screen of your mobile device or print it if necessary. If your registration has been made by a training manager of your company please contact him/her so that he/she can give you access to it or send it to you.

Exam

For this training course, an optional exam is available. In case of interest, candidates can choose a date from the list of proposed examination sessions. Registration for the exam must be made at least five days before the chosen exam date. The exam is subject to a registration fee.

The examination consists of true/false and multiple-choice questions. To pass the exam, a candidate must achieve a score of at least 50% of the total points on the exam.

Certificate

This module is part of the Risk Management Certification. To obtain their certificate, candidates must complete 12 days of training in Risk Management and pass the exam for each course. 

More details for banks: Professional Risk Management Certification for Banks

More details for funds: Professional Risk Management Certification for Funds

Location
Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg
7, rue Alcide de Gasperi
L-1615 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Calculate the itinerary

Sessions and schedules

Download the schedule (PDF)

  • Wed 26.06.2024

    08:30 to 17:30

    8H

    Risk Management-Fundamentals

    Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg

  • 2H

    elearning - Fundamentals of Financial Risk

    E-learning

Download the schedule (PDF)

  • Mon 23.09.2024

    08:30 to 17:30

    8H

    Risk Management-Fundamentals

    Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg

  • 2H

    elearning - Fundamentals of Financial Risk

    E-learning

Download the schedule (PDF)

  • Fri 06.12.2024

    08:30 to 17:30

    8H

    Risk Management-Fundamentals

    Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg

  • 2H

    elearning - Fundamentals of Financial Risk

    E-learning

Duration 1H

Location Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg

  • Tue 19.03.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 26.03.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 28.03.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 16.04.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 23.04.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 25.04.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 30.04.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 07.05.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 14.05.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 21.05.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 23.05.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 04.06.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 11.06.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 25.06.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 27.06.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 02.07.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 09.07.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 17.09.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 24.09.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 26.09.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 01.10.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 08.10.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 15.10.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 22.10.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 24.10.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 05.11.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 12.11.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 19.11.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 26.11.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 28.11.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 03.12.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 10.12.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Tue 17.12.2024 08:45 to 11:45
  • Thu 19.12.2024 08:45 to 11:45