CISSP® - Certified Information Systems Security Professional




This 5-day course will prepare for the CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional) exam, covering the entire CBK (Common Body of Knowledge) as defined by (ISC)2. The CISSP is the most globally recognised certification in the information security market. CISSP validates an information security professional’s deep technical and managerial knowledge and experience to effectively design, engineer, and manage the overall security posture of an organisation

The broad spectrum of topics included in the CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) ensures its relevance across all disciplines in the field of information security. Successful candidates are competent in the following 8 domains:

  •     Security and Risk Management

  •     Asset Security

  •     Security Architecture and Engineering

  •     Communication and Network Security

  •     Identity and Access Management (IAM)

  •     Security Assessment and Testing

  •     Security Operations

  •     Software Development Security


This training course will help candidates review and refresh their information security knowledge and help identify areas they need to study for the CISSP exam.

Several types of activities are used throughout the course to reinforce topics and increase knowledge retention. These activities include open ended questions from the instructor to the students, matching and poll questions, group activities, open/closed questions, and group discussions. The interactive learning technique is based on sound adult learning theories.

This training provides a comprehensive review of information security concepts and industry best practices, covering the 8 domains of CISSP CBK (Common Body of Knowledge).

  • Domain 1: Security and Risk Management

    • Understand and apply concepts of confidentiality, integrity and availability

    • Evaluate and apply security governance principles

    • Determine compliance requirements

    • Understand legal and regulatory issues that pertain to information security in a global context

    • Understand, adhere to and promote professional ethic

    • Develop, document and implement security policy, standards, procedures, and guidelines

    • Identify, analyse and prioritise Business Continuity (BC) requirements

    • Contribute to and enforce personnel security policies and procedures

    • Understand and apply risk management concepts

    • Understand and apply threat modelling concepts and methodologies

    • Apply risk-based management concepts to the supply chain

    • Establish and maintain a security awareness, education, and training programme

  • Domain 2: Asset Security

    • Identify and classify information and assets

    • Determine and maintain information and asset ownership

    • Protect privacy

    • Ensure appropriate asset retention

    • Determine data security controls

    • Establish information and asset handling requirements

  • Domain 3: Security Engineering

    • Implement and manage engineering processes using secure design principles

    • Understand the fundamental concepts of security models

    • Select controls based upon systems security requirements

    • Understand security capabilities of information systems (e.g., memory protection, Trusted
      Platform Module, encryption/decryption)

    • Assess and mitigate vulnerabilities of security architectures, designs and solution elements

    • Assess and mitigate vulnerabilities in Web-based systems

    • Assess and mitigate vulnerabilities in mobile systems

    • Assess and mitigate vulnerabilities in embedded devices

    • Apply cryptography

    • Apply security principles to site and facility design

    • Implement site and facility security controls

  • Domain 4: Communications and Network Security

    • Implement secure design principle in network architectures

    • Secure network components

    • Implement secure communication channels according to design

  • Domain 5: Identity and Access Management

    • Control physical and logical access to assets

    • Manage identification and authentication of people, devices and services

    • Integrate identity as a third-party service

    • Implement and manage authorisation mechanisms

    • Manage the identity and access provisioning life cycle

  • Domain 6: Security Assessment and Testing

    • Design and validate assessment, test, and audit strategies

    • Conduct security control testing

    • Collect security process data (e.g., technical and administrative)

    • Analyse test output and generate report

    • Conduct or facilitate security audits

  • Domain 7: Security Operations

    • Understand and support investigations

    • Understand requirements for investigation types

    • Conduct logging and monitoring activities

    • Securely provisioning resources

    • Understand and apply foundational security operations concepts

    • Apply resources protection techniques

    • Conduct incident management

    • Operate and maintain detective and preventive measures

    • Implement and support patch and vulnerability management

    • Understand and participate in change management processes

    • Implement recovery strategies

    • Implement Disaster Recovery (DR) processes

    • Test Disaster Recovery Plans (DRP)

    • Participate in Business Continuity (BC) planning and exercises

    • Implement and manage physical security

    • Address personnel safety and security concerns

  • Domain 8: Software Development Security

    • Understand and integrate security in the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

    • Identify and apply security controls in development environments

    • Assess the effectiveness of software security

    • Assess security impact of acquired software

    • Define and apply secure coding guidelines and standards

  • Preparation to the Exam 

Target audience

Security (Consultant, Manager, Auditor, Architect, Analyst, System Engineer), IT Director/Manager, CISO, Director of Security, Network Architect


Basic information system knowledge is recommended. Proficiency in English is essential due to the documentation being in English.

Examination (not included)

Certified Information Systems Security Professional, covering the entire CBK (Common Body of Knowledge) as defined by (ISC)2.

The online CISSP exam (CAT: computerised adaptive testing) is available for all the exams in English. In the other languages, the exam is linearly managed.

You will have more information on the online exam on the link below:

CISSP Computerized Adaptive Testing

  •     Duration of the exam: 3 hours

  •     Number of questions: 100 – 150

  •     Types of questions: Multiple choice and innovative advanced questions

  •     Pass mark: 700 out of 1000 points

  •     Available Language: English

  •     Exam center: PPC and PVTC, Pearson View Authorized Testing Centers (ISC)2

The linear CISSP exam:

  •     Duration of the exam: 6 hours

  •     Number of questions: 250

  •     Types of questions: Multiple choice and innovative advanced questions

  •     Pass mark: 700 out of 1000 points

  •     Available Language: French, German, Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Korean

  •     Exam center: PPC and PVTC, Pearson View Authorized Testing Centers (ISC)2


Course Material

The training material will be handed out at the beginning of the course and can also be downloaded free of charge via your portal the day before the start of the course (download the Client Portal User’s Guide here).


At the end of the course, participants will receive a certificate of attendance issued by the House of Training.

Chambre de Commerce Luxembourg
7, rue Alcide de Gasperi
L-1615 Luxembourg
Calculate the itinerary